Legalease Home page
Whats new



Withdrawal Agreement Act passed and agreement signed

Subject: Law, Lawmakers and Lawyers/Brexit

Source: GOV.UK

The European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020 has been enacted by Parliament, allowing the Withdrawal Agreement as agreed between the United Kingdom and the European Union (EU) to be signed by both parties on 24 January 2020.

The European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act enables the Withdrawal Agreement to have domestic legal effect in the UK and the UK Government to ratify the Agreement. The Act also enables the Government to give effect to the EEA EFTA Separation Agreement between the UK and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the Swiss Citizens’ Rights Agreement between the UK and Switzerland.

The Act amends the EU (Withdrawal) Act 2018 to ensure it reflects the terms

of the Withdrawal Agreement. It includes amendments to the Northern Ireland Act 1998 in relation to rights, safeguards and equality of opportunity protections contained in the Belfast (Good Friday) Agreement 1998.

The Act provides that the European Communities Act 1972, and therefore EU law, will continue to have effect in the UK until the end of Implementation Period i.e. 31 December 2020 at 11 pm.


Back to What's new list >